RoHS II Directive

On 21 July, European Directive 2011/65/EU concerning the restriction of the use of certain hazardous substances in electrical and electronic equipment entered into force. The first directive related to hazardous substances in equipment is known by the name RoHS Directive. The abbreviation RoHS stands for Restriction of Hazardous Substances. Since the abbreviation RoHS is well known to companies, the first directive will be designated RoHS I and the new one RoHS II. The most important thing to know about the RoHS II Directive is that it applies to 11 product groups, which are named in the directive.
Industrial products are not included in the product groups named. The RoHS I and II Directives target the presence and the reduction of hazardous substances in electrical and electronic equipment (EEA).
European Directive 2002/96/EU concerning waste electrical and electronic equipment focusses on the re-use, recycling or useful application of discarded equipment. This directive is known more commonly by the name WEEE Directive. The abbreviation WEEE stands for Waste of Electric and Electronic Equipment.
In order to determine which electrical and electronic equipment were subject to RoHS I, 10 product groups were specifically mentioned in a list in that WEEE Directive. RoHS II now contains an appendix listing 11 product groups.

ESV Technisch Adviesbureau
  • Mercuriusweg 30 - 3771 NC - Barneveld
  • +31 (0)342-424251
ESV Technisch Adviesbureau BV België
  • Kapelsesteenweg 292 - 2930 Brasschaat
Start Teamviewer